Webservice Password

Topics: Bindings File, Settings Management and SSO, IIS and Web Services
Oct 6, 2011 at 4:13 PM

I am fairly new to Biztalk and newer still to the BTDF, so if I missed documentation or some example somewhere, please point me in the right direction.

I have a Orchestration that uses a WCF-Custom port.  This port connects to a webservice and authenticates the caller, via a username and password that are stored under the Configure->Credentials tab (Do not use single sign-On).  This web service stored confidential information

How would I get the user to enter the password during the MSI install?

I am aware that we could use the SettingsFileGenerator.xml, but we would prefer not to have the passwords on developer machines, then on the sever when the MSI is extracted (under the Deployment\EnvironmentSettings folder).

Cyrus

Coordinator
Oct 6, 2011 at 4:44 PM

Hi Cyrus,

So the password for the webservice sits in your bindings XML file, correct?  In the typical process, the bindings file will need to be updated with the password before it is imported into BizTalk.  However, that will still leave a file on disk that contains the password in plain text.  If that simply cannot happen, then you would have to try to update the port configuration through custom code, possibly through WMI.  I'm not sure offhand what would be required to do that, but you could package something into an MSBuild task which could then be called from your deployment script.