This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

Need Help in SSO Settings Editor GUI for viewing and editing settings stored in SSO on the fly

Topics: Bindings File, Settings Management and SSO, General Questions, Getting Started/Beginner
Nov 9, 2011 at 5:34 AM

I am very new to BDTF infact touched it today itself no idea how to begin with...

I want to change one FTP setting on the fly in Production without redeploying the entire solution...

Please suggest detailed procedure how to do that.

Help Appreciated.

-Vicky

Nov 9, 2011 at 6:29 AM

When you have the <IncludeSSO> property set to true in your .btdfproj, then when you build an MSI with the Deployment Framework, install it and deploy on a server, you will find a link to the SSO editor GUI in the Start menu.  That will let you edit settings immediately with a slight delay due to caching.  For the setting change to take effect, you'd have to be reading the setting value programatically somewhere inside your BizTalk solution code.  You might want to review the BasicMasterBindings sample and Advanced sample.

Also, please see the included documentation.

Please post again if you get stuck.

Thanks,
Tom

Nov 9, 2011 at 6:47 AM

Thanks Tom for such a prompt response.

I am sorry but even if I am setting the <IncludeSSO> property to true, DO I need to deploy the MSI again on my Prod server?

What I understood is...

1. Install BTDF on local dev machine.

2. Set the <IncludeSSO> property to true.

3. Build an MSI with Deployment Framework.

4. Deploy it on Prod Server.

5. Now on any Environment setting can be changed on the fly directly using SSO editor GUI in the Start menu. (But Atleast Once the MSI should be deployed with <IncludeSSO> property to true.

Please confirm if I understood correctly.

Regards,

Vicky

Nov 9, 2011 at 7:38 AM