Handling dependencies between applications

Jan 23, 2009 at 12:03 PM
I am fairly new to BizTalk 2006 and am just starting to utilize this fantastic framework that you have provided.  We currently have a "Common" Application contaning logging, email, error handling, etc. that all other Applications depend on.  This application rarely changes but when it does we need to uninstall all dependent applications in order to apply the new changes.  This has to happen even if the changes are internal to the common application such as adding new schemas that do not break the defined "Common Interfaces".  For deployments I have created a batch file using BTSTask which does the following:

1.  Extract all of the MSI's and Bindings of the Applications that are dependent on the Common Application
2.  Uninstall and Remove the Applications that are dependent on the Common Application
3.  Install the new Common Application
4.  Re-Install all of the Applications that are dependent on the Common Application using the MSI's and Bindings from Step 1.

Is there anything already built within the Deployment Framework that I can utilize that will handle Dependencies among Applications? If not, do you have any suggestions from previous experiences on how to handle the dependencies?

Thanks in advance!!
Coordinator
Jan 23, 2009 at 6:30 PM

Thanks for the positive feedback!  Since you are fairly new to BizTalk, you may not know that .NET components, orchestrations, maps/transforms and pipeline components assemblies (assuming that you are breaking things up that way) can be updated in-place without going through a whole undeploy/redeploy cycle -- as long as you don't modify the assembly version numbers.  They just need to be re-GAC'd and host instances restarted, which is how the Deployment Framework does its "quick" update.  Since you mentioned changing schemas, though, you are indeed stuck with the painful sequence of events that you described.