Multiple bindings files

Topics: Bindings File, Settings Management and SSO
Feb 17, 2012 at 10:12 PM

We have multiple projects within our solution organized by functional area: Orders, Items, Shipping, etc.  Within each of these we then use subfolders for schemas, orchestrations, etc.  Each project becomes its own assembly.  We have multiple developers that have ownership for given projects.  They deploy and test in their own sandbox environments.  When all is said and done, each developer is responsible for exporting their bindings for a project from BizTalk and putting them back into TFS.  That means that we have many bindings files in TFS that support the single solution.  I am trying to automate the building of a single MSI with bindings to deploy without having to go through a manual process of bringing all the bindings into a BizTalk run-time first.

I am new to BTDF and it is an awesome tool.  I can't figure out how to incorporate (in an automated fashion) multiple bindings into the process when I build a server MSI.  Is this possible?  If so, how would I go about doing that?

Thanks ahead of time for your assistance.

Regards,

Keith

Coordinator
Feb 27, 2012 at 7:49 AM

Hi Keith,

Currently the Deployment Framework expects a single binding file.  There is an extension point in the server MSI build process that you could use to bring the multiple binding files together into one: create a custom Target in your .btdfproj named CustomPreRedist.  When that target executes, your goal would be to create the file PortBindings.xml (or PortBindingsMaster.xml if you're using a master bindings file) in the deployment project folder, and it would subsequently be picked up and packaged into the MSI.

How to bring them together?  One idea is to use XSLT.  You could either write a custom MSBuild task that does the job (takes in an ItemGroup list of the various binding files and outputs the combined file), or even a simple .NET console app to call with the Exec task.