This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

Different MSI and master bindings based on region

Topics: Bindings File, Settings Management and SSO
Mar 14, 2013 at 7:14 AM
Hi,

I need to create 2 MSI from the same the BizTalk Solution based on the region category. The bindings for the same as different (no. of send ports) for each region.

There are 2 ways of doing it -
  1. Use the master binding with loads of pre-processing scripts.
  2. Creating a different MSI based on the region with its own Master Binding File.
I want to try Step 2 here. I am relatively new to BTDF, so kindly explain in detail, if possible. And here are my queries for the same:

Q1. I want to have user parameter passed as region code to create the MSI accordingly. Is it possible and how?

Q2. If above is not possible, then can I have multiple master binding files based on region which would get selected based on user input at the runtime using InstallWizard.xml? How can I save the value of the variable in InstallWizard and use it in my BTDF Project file to select appropriate master bindings for pre-processing?

Thanks,
neel :)
Mar 14, 2013 at 7:40 PM
Hi Neel,

Creating a single MSI with multiple master binding files is going to be the easiest path.

One binding file will just be the "default" and the other an add-on.

First, add the new master binding XML next to your existing one. Then add this code to your .btdfproj to copy the extra bindings file into the MSI:
<Target Name="CustomRedist">
    <!-- Force MSBuild to expand the item spec into physical file specs -->
    <CreateItem Include="$(MSBuildProjectDirectory)\Region2PortBindingsMaster.xml">
      <Output TaskParameter="Include" ItemName="ExtraBindingsSourceGroup" />
    </CreateItem>

<Copy DestinationFolder="$(RedistDir)\Deployment" SourceFiles="@(ExtraBindingsSourceGroup)"/>
</Target>